Awards & Reviews for HOMEMADE FOR SALE

AWARDS

 

 

 

Finalist in the "Business: Entrepreneurship & Small Business" category of the 2015 USA Best Book Awards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mother Earth News 2015 "Books for Wiser Living" Recommendation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Civil Eats "20 of the Best Food and Farming Books of 2015"

 

 

 

 

REVIEWS

 

Library Journal, March, 2015

 

Many people who like to cook or preserve a dream of selling items they have pickled, baked, or otherwise prepared in their homes. What often stops them is the thought of the paperwork and requirements necessary to start up a business. The authors provide the background information and step-by-step instructions that budding entrepreneurs need. Chapters cover legal and health aspects of preparing food for sale, equipment needs, marketing and advertising, packaging and pricing, creating business plans, bookkeeping and financial management, and ways to grow the business. Written in an engaging and easy-to-read style, this is a real how-to manual. Well illustrated and designed, it includes detailed business profiles, links to useful services and sites, and examples of labels and product ideas.  VERDICT An excellent, eminently practical resource to make a successful home-based food business a reality. Recommended for public libraries.

           –  Susan Hurst, Miami Univ. Libs., Oxford, OH

 

 

Portland Book Review, June 15, 2015

 

The book [HOMEMADE FOR SALE] spells things out and is set up in an easy-to-read format. Even if you don’t know what to make, it will give you ideas on what’s popular in your area and what people are looking for. The pictures are good too! So there’s no excuse for you not to get this book. I could go on and on, but really, get off your butt, go to your local bookstore, and start reading!  5 of 5 Stars.

             –  Annie Hicks, Portland Book Review, read the entire review here.

 

 

 

Hobby Farms.com, April 23, 2015

 

The Book to go Pro with Your Favorite Recipe

Kivirist and Ivanko dig deep into the finer points of running a business, from navigating the tricky worlds of zoning and licensing to properly marketing your product in an increasingly digital world. The section on financial management is particularly valuable -- and legitimately not boring! -- with its breakdowns of cash-flow projections (with actual numbers projected for the authors' future Fresh Baked line of baked goods) and bookkeeping basics.  If you've ever dreamed of starting a food business from your home kitchen, give HOMEMADE FOR SALE a read -- it may just be the final push you need.

              –  Cory Hershberger, Hobby Farms Associate Editor; for the full review, click here.

 

 

 

April 30, 2015

 

HOMEMADE FOR SALE is well written, with an engaging voice that breathes encouragement on every page ... Lisa Kivirist and John D. Ivanko don't just dangle an empty carrot of hopeful promise; they lay out exactly how to make the dream a reality ... It's well researched, up-to-date and the first book of its kind.

               –  Melody Joy Elick, Farm Girl Inspirations, for the full review, click here.

 

 

 

 

April 21, 2015

 

I really like the balance of facts, advice, and real life stories in this book, but what I most like is the focus on marketing, which stems from John and Lisa’s former business experience. From my perspective, marketing is the missing ingredient for many CFOs. When I first thought about starting my own chocolate chip cookie business, I thought the first step was to perfect my recipe, right? Wrong.  HOMEMADE FOR SALE covers a lot of ground, but it does a good job of staying focused on important questions as it guides you through the process of creating a successful business. It is uplifting, but also realistic. It is not merely written for your enjoyment -- it is an action book.

             –  David Crabill, co-founder of Forrager.com; read Crabill's full review here.

 

 

 

Wisconsin Public Radio, The Larry Meiller Show, May 5, 2015

 

There's lots of really good information in [HOMEMADE FOR SALE]...Anybody interested in [starting a cottage food business] needs to take a look at this book for sure. I would read this book before I do anything else. 

            –  Larry Meiller, The Larry Meiller Show, Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR); listen to the                     entire program here.

 

 

Story Circle Book Reviews, June 16, 2015

 

The book is very well organized and easy to use and reference after one has read it. It covers the technical aspects of setting up your business (financially and practically) as well as the basics of marketing your homemade food items. The chapters are arranged step by step, and the information is presented clearly and in an interesting fashion. The authors share not only their own stories but the stories of other entrepreneurs who are making their home businesses work, and work well.  It is clearly taking a place of honor on my shelf of valuable homestead resources.

               -  Khadijah A.

 

 

 

The Tron Show, KCMN Radio, March 18, 2015

 

[HOMEMADE FOR SALE] is one of the neatest books that has come out this year.  It's not an encyclopedia...it gets right to the point.

          –  Tron Simpson, The Tron Show, KCMN Radio, Colorado Springs, CO

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Thrifty Homesteader, March 23, 2015

 

The two best things about [HOMEMADE FOR SALE] are the authors' enthusiasm for home-based businesses and their effort to make sure that entrepreneurs protect themselves legally.  Each chapter also includes stories of entrepreneurs from all over the U.S. who have started home-based food businesses. By the time I reached the end of the book, I was ready to pull out my baking pans and get started!

          –  Deborah Niemann, The Thrifty Homesteader, Cornell, IL

 

 

Idlewild Alaska, April 2015

 

I started reading it right away and could hardly put it down. So many people have "that" recipe that all of their family members and coworkers are always begging them to make ... HOMEMADE FOR SALE is a great guide to get you started on your journey to working from home ... This really is a must for anyone with the dream to take their "perfect recipe" to the world. I really enjoyed the "Profile" sections, a look at an individual who has started and succeeded in their own from-home business through the cottage food laws.

             –  Idlewild Alaska; for the full review, click here.

 

 

L.O. + F.T., April 4, 2015

 

Whether your passion is baking, gardening, or preserving, cottage food laws in states across the country are paving the way for entrepreneurs to open (and operate) a business right out of their own kitchens.  A great first step would be getting your hands on a copy of HOMEMADE FOR SALE.  Consider it a crash course and very well researched guide to navigating cottage food industry jargon, regulations, and helpful tips on how to get your own up and running.

          –  Rachel Werner, L.O. + F.T., Madison, WI

 

 

 

The Greenhorns Blog, June 29, 2015

 

HOMEMADE FOR SALE is a perfect guide to start your own at home kitchen business...This is an amazing resource.

          -  Lily Chaleff, The Greenhorns Blog Team

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Chopping Blog Blog, July 16, 2015

 

HOMEMADE FOR SALE is a must-read for any first-time food entrepreneur because of the amount of research it includes. It also provides helpful information about avoiding common pitfalls and is tailored to the home cook, including an assessment to determine whether you are ready to be a "CFO" (Cottage Food Operator).

          -  Andrea, The Chopping Block Blog, read Andrea's full review here.